The 22-year-old Deceuninck – Quick-Step rider landed the biggest victory of his career so far.

Two years after making the double at the U23 National Championships just before inking a deal with our team, Fabio Jakobsen took the laurels in the elite event, courtesy of a pitch-perfect sprint he delivered at the end of the hectic 226.8km-long race held around the town of Ede.

Nine riders attacked early and established a huge lead of nearly ten minutes over the bunch, who had to work hard in order to nullify the move, catching the last survivor of the day-long breakaway only inside the last three kilometers. Fabio Jakobsen remained hidden the entire race, navigating through the field and making his way towards the front with only 1500 meters to go, when he surfed wheels and positioned himself for the bunch sprint.

Victorious in four races so far this season, the 22-year-old prodigious Dutchman kicked out more than 200 meters from the line and put several bike lengths into Moreno Hofland (EF Education First) and Bas van der Kooij (Monkey Town), comfortably winning the prized jersey which he’ll now wear for the next twelve months.

“I can’t tell you how happy I am. It wasn’t easy being on my own today, but I remained calm and waited to see how things would unfold. I must admit, I had luck by my side, as the race concluded in a bunch sprint, but also my legs were very strong, allowing me to start the sprint with 250 meters left and notch up this beautiful victory. I am proud that I’ll now get to sport this prestigious jersey in some of the world’s biggest jersey and I plan on honouring it”, explained Fabio, the youngest rider in 11 years to become Dutch Champion.


Photo credit: ©Photo Cor Vos

Race details

1 Fabio Jakobsen
Deceuninck - Quick Step
2 Moreno Hofland
EF Education First
3 Bas van der Kooij
Monkey Town - à Bloc CT
4 Martijn Budding
BEAT Cycling Club
5 Cees Bol
Team Sunweb
6 Bram Welten
Team Arkéa Samsic
7 Ramon Sinkeldam
Groupama - FDJ
8 Dennis van Winden
Israel Cycling Academy
9 Jesper Asselman
Roompot - Charles
10 Coen Vermeltfoort
Alecto Cycling Team

Related items

Deceuninck – Quick-Step to the National Championships

Deceuninck – Quick-Step to the National Championships